Skip to Main Content
Register | Reset Password | Renew My Account

EndNote: Information and User Guides

Sharing your EndNote library

Using EndNote version X7.2 or above will allow you to share an existing EndNote library with your colleagues (up to 100 people with EndNote X9), or work as a team to create a new library from scratch.

  • In order to share your library, you must set-up your EndNote account and fully sync your library first. If you have not synced your library please watch the below tutorial

How it works

  • One person will create the library and then share it with their colleagues, and this library can be shared with anyone using EndNote X7 or above
  • Share your entire EndNote library, including references, PDFs, and annotations
  • The 'owner' of the library can select who has 'read and write' or 'read only' permissions
  • Everyone who has the appropriate permissions can add to, annotate and use the library – at the same time
  • The 'owner' of the library can remove colleagues from the shared list at any time
  • *Important; you can only share one library with others, but multiple libraries can be shared with you

Library sharing

How to sync your EndNote library